BREAKING NEWS: ‘Supergirl’ introduces Nia Nal, the first trans superhero on TV!

DC’s hit TV show Supergirl has some big news– three new characters will be joining the show for Season 4, including Nia Nal (aka Dreamer), player by Nicole Maines! Even more exciting is the news that Maines, a trans actress, will portray the first transgender superhero on television!

Maines is a trans activist and actress who has appeared on Royal Pains, The Trans List, Becoming Nicole book, and more. The character of Nia Nal is a precog who sees the future in her dreams. DC enthusiast will recognize the Nal name from the Legion of Superheroes, where her great great (great?) granddaughter lives in the future.

Executive Producers Jessica Queller and Robert Rovner confirm that they sought out a trans actor for the role. “We found a real life superhero in Nicole Maines,” Queller said. “We did a worldwide talent search for this role we always were seeking a trans actress. That was always our intention.”

“The show is about inclusion,” Rovner said.

Supergirl returns this Fall for a new season on the CW.

DMac Interviews Briana Lawrence, author of “I Am Magical”!

web analytics
hit counter

MagnifiqueNOIR: I am Magical by Briana Lawrence is a black, queer, magical girl adventure that readers can’t stop raving about! Bree Danvers is a plus-size heroine ready to save her city from monsters along with her team, in this gorgeous novel perfect for fans of Sailor Moon.

After reading I am Magical (review here!) I decided to reach out to her on twitter! She was gracious enough to answer my questions and talk about her book, as well as what it’s like to be a black, geeky woman.

Continue reading

Interview with Rick Riordan (Plus a “Rick Riordan Presents” Giveaway!)

web analytics
hit counter

Recent years have seen an incredible shift in publishing towards greater inclusivity and diversity, and at the forefront of that push has been author Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson and Magnus Chase series. These books may be targeted for Middle Grade and Young Adult readers, but the stories– which follow teenagers as they interact with mythological gods– are rich with people of color, queer characters, neurodiversity, and more! These are truly books for readers of all ages.

We’re thrilled today to welcome Rick Riordan to our site to talk about the origins of Percy Jackson, the debate about what’s ‘appropriate’ in MG/YA books, and much more!

Thank you, Rick, for joining us today!

Continue reading

Interview with Ngozi Ukazu, author and illustrator of “Check, Please!”

web analytics
hit counter

At last year’s Flame Con (the queer comic con held in NYC), I had the pleasure of meeting up with author and artist Ngozi Ukazu. Her web comic, Check, Please!, was the most funded Kickstarter of all time, and has taken the internet by storm. In between talking about the amazing art on display and our shared love of hockey, we took a few minutes to chat about pies, queer rep in sports, and #Hockey, the first volume of Check, Please!, which will be published this autumn by First Second!

College, baking, coming to terms with your sexuality, and hockey… what more could you ask for in a comic? “Check” it out:

Eric Bittle—former Georgia junior figure skating champion, vlogger extraordinaire, and amateur pâtissier—is starting his freshman year playing hockey at the prestigious Samwell University in Samwell, Massachusetts. And it’s basically nothing like co-ed club hockey back in the South. For one?

There’s checking.

It’s a story about hockey and friendship and bros and trying to find yourself during the best 4 years of your life.

Today I’m thrilled to feature Ngozi on the blog! And be sure to check the end of the post for purchase links and more.

Continue reading

Women in Queer SFF: Interview with Sarah Gailey, author of “River of Teeth” and “Taste of Marrow”!

web analytics
hit counter

Throughout September, we’re celebrating the women of queer Sci-Fi/Fantasy! You can find the master-list of posts and the schedule here!

Today we’re excited to welcome author Sarah Gailey to the blog to talk about her series of alternate history, that has hippos in it, people, and about queer and female representation in fiction.

El: Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for taking the time to answer some of our questions today.

Let’s start with the burning question: What made you decide to write an alternative history of the US with feral killer hippos?

I wanted to write a heist narrative — a caper — and I wanted to write about fabulous hats and bloodshed. Hippos were a natural fit, of course.

Seriously, though. A.B. Guthrie once said something to the effect of: the key to good writing is a constant thread of the unexpected. When I had the idea to write about an America in which the Hippo Bill passed, I knew that I could do something with them that would keep that thread of the unexpected going strong throughout the story, and River of Teeth was born.  Continue reading

Women in Queer SFF: Interview with Amanda Foody!

web analytics
hit counter

We’re halfway through September, which means we’re halfway through our month dedicated to celebrating Women in Queer Sci-Fi and Fantasy!

Today we’re highlighting new author Amanda Foody, whose recent release, Daughter of the Burning City, is a darkly whimsical fantasy set in a traveling circus, and who has the talent to create realistic illusions of people… illusions which are somehow being murdered.

I sat down with Amanda at San Diego Comic Con, to ask her all about this incredible book, and about what’s coming up next for her!

So welcome, Amanda! 

Continue reading